So I work in IT and use all major OSes on desktop - Windows, Linux and MacOS. However I haven't used MacOS since 15.0 was released. I updated, made sure all my additional apps are working (notably AltTab and Rectangle), and put it back to my locker, since Linux is my main OS.
Today I took it out to update to 15.2, with intent to use it a bit, evaluate how it's standing. And I was just stunned on how much Apple treats MacOS users like complete blithering idiots.
"Hey, end user, do you want this antivirus software, that you yourself installed to have access to your storage? Cool, I'll allow it for 30 days and ask you again, maybe you change your mind!"
Like what? Why 30 days? Why would I EVER want to revoke access to my storage FROM AN ANTIVIRUS?! Let alone in 30 days?
But the straw that broke the camel's back for me was this:
YES! I KNOW! I ALLOWED IT! I CHANGED THE SETTING MANUALLY TO ALLOW IT!
And it would be cool if this showed once. No problem. Click "Okay, cool".
NO. This notification pops up EVERY TIME I open a new window or use Alt-Tab. And it stacks! So if I hop around windows a bunch I have like 60 of these notifications.
"...accessed your screen and system audio 2 times...", "...system audio 10 times...", "...56 times..."
YES, I KNOW THAT! THANK YOU! NOW SHUT UP!
I'm just done. Literally done. I come from Linux, where the user is treated like adult, responsible and intelligent human being. If you're gonna do something actually dumb it will ask you once, and then trust, that you know what you're doing. But not MacOS. MacOS treats me like I'm 3 years old. "Hey, little Jimmy, are you SURE you want to do the thing you've done 60 times already and every time you answered yes? Are you REALLY SURE?"
Like... Come on...
[link] [comments]
SOCIAL SHARE CARD GENERATOR